GoF

Feeling a bit uninspired this week, so I shall continue my commentary on The Goblet of Fire.

I started reading GoF again last Monday, so I’ve been at it for about a week and a half. I’m only a third of the way through. And Order of the Phoenix is even longer. Of course, I actually like OotP, especially once the twins jailbreak the school and chaos reigns supreme.

GoF is my least favorite Harry Potter book. I don’t know if it’s Harry mooning over Cho the whole book. Or if it’s the Ron-Hermione fight being a genuinely horrible one this time (unlike, say, the significantly more legitimate fight about Scabbers and Crookshanks). Or the first time Ron doesn’t trust Harry.

Honestly, it’s probably my least favorite book because Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite. So, you go from the horrible PoA ending right into the second-longest book in the series. Which is fine and cool and all that, but I wasn’t particularly excited about the Triwizard Tournament. It’s just one more time that Harry is regarded with suspicion all year through no fault of his own – except this time, it ends with someone dying.

I generally breeze through the first three and then get bogged down in GoF. It’s just really frustrating.

Leave a comment

Filed under Opinions, Reactions

Let me know what you think.

