Autumn is Coming

With a week of August left now, I have realized that it might be my favorite month of the year. Once you hit August, people finally stop sneering, “Oh, just you wait” when you complain about how hot it is. This last week or so, it’s rained a lot where I live, and today was cooler and absolutely gorgeous.

Fall is my favorite season. I love the cooling trend in the weather, I love the leaves changing colors, and I love the wind in all its forms. In fact, one of the things I miss most about living in Japan is what is apparently called the Siberian High (thanks, Google). The Siberian High reaches Japan as a strong northern wind, which at my latitude meant cold weather but not necessarily snow. When I visited Europe this summer, it was windy everywhere all the time and it was great. Wind means fresh air and white noise and pretty clouds. It means life when you didn’t expect it.

The candles are coming out too. I’ve seen them in at least two houses this week, and neither house was mine! There’s something very homey and lovely about a candle burning on the coffee table, especially the ones that smell like fall in a jar. Scents in general are one of the best things about fall. I love the apple and the pumpkin and the spices. I love the fire too: candles, fireplaces, bonfires.

I love comfy sweaters and cloudy days and hot chocolate. Fall leaves are prettier than summer flowers, and they even make cool noises when you run through them (unlike, say, grass). Snow’s all right too, but fall, y’all. FALL.

I’m excited.

1 Comment

Filed under Memoirs, Opinions

One response to “Autumn is Coming

  1. Oh, I would love to have a true fall. We don’t get much in Southern California until November……ahhhh…..my very favorite month! Nicely said.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think.

