I Don’t Like Phone Calls

I don’t like phone calls. I’m an INFJ, and I grew up in a country that didn’t speak the language I spoke at home. I’ve learned to focus on body language and facial expressions to fill in the context I miss.

I first heard about highly sensitive people last year. I don’t know if all INFJ are HSP, but I’m definitely highly sensitive. I’ve spent my entire life perfecting the art of the poker face because I am so easily offended. And it’s not just you said something sarcastic and I took you seriously. It’s, there was a slightly longer than I expected pause between whatever I said and whatever you responded with. It’s, you stuttered when you invited me. It’s, you glanced at your friend when you thought I wasn’t looking.

And maybe it’s nothing. You know? But my imagination and my anxiety blow every little thing out of proportion.

I’ve always hated phone calls. And I figured out today why. I have nothing to fall back on if I miss a word. I can’t figure out what direction to guide the conversation in if I can’t see how your eyebrows are moving when you talk. I have literally nothing to go on except your voice, and that’s terrifying.

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts

One response to “I Don’t Like Phone Calls

  1. This sounds exactly like me. I am INFJ and HSP as well. It can be hard having the ability to notice all of those extra body language signals and the intuition and being able to tell when people are lying, but it is a gift too. Maybe it helps us sift through the people who wouldn’t be a positive addition to our lives, maybe it helps us experience life more fully. Either way just know there are others who know how you feel and are here to support you! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Let me know what you think.

