Happy Thanksgiving

If you’ve followed me very long, you’ve probably noticed that I don’t usually acknowledge holidays. If you’ve never read my blog before, first of all, Hi. Second, I don’t like established holidays. I especially dislike Christmas because if I didn’t speak to you for the last eleven months, why should I send you a card and tell you how much I love you?

But Thanksgiving? Thanksgiving is more my speed. It’s about food and family, both of which are very important to me, and it’s about recognizing what you have to be thankful for.

Recently, I’ve been really focused on what’s missing from my life, things I want that I can’t have. Working retail is getting to be too much for me. My car has been having problems (for a while now, but the most recent episode was a dead starter). I haven’t been able to write a word of my book in months.

I’m bad about taking my life for granted. Every once in a while it’ll hit me how good I have it. I have supportive parents who are still together. I have good friends who listen to my crap. I have a place to sleep. I have food to eat. I have a job.

So Happy Thanksgiving, because I have a lot to be thankful for.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memoirs

Let me know what you think.

