I Still Love You

So the last couple months have been kind of crazy. I’ve written almost 60K words of a new book. I just finished my sabbatical that I started back in January and I’m back working at my bookstore. I’d like to think I’ve grown a lot, and that I’m a better human being than I was at the start of all this.

But one thing hasn’t changed. I still love you.

I love your honesty. You’re brave enough to start a conversation that matters. Even when it’s hard, you always know exactly the right words to say. You know exactly what I need to hear. You know exactly what means the most. You aren’t afraid of the truth.

I love your passion. I love that you don’t shy away from a soap box. I love how your eyes light up when you talk about your interests and your dreams. I love how you care about your families and how you’re fiercely protective of the ones you love. I love that I’m family, even though we haven’t known each other that long.

I love your trust. We don’t have history, and yet you trust me. I can’t really explain how much that means to me. I don’t do trust. But now I want to, and I’m trying very hard.

I love your loyalty. I love that you would never let me walk away. I love that you want me in your life. I love that you actually care.

Love is messy. I’m learning that more and more as I get older. But I still love you both.

And nothing will ever change that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memoirs

Let me know what you think.

