Breakfast in the Mountains

I had a great view when I was eating breakfast this morning. Ridge after ridge of the Appalachian mountains. I like how each ridge is slightly taller than the last, how each ridge has its own unique line. And the morning fog lazed into the hollows and the sunlight poured over like slow magic.

And in my mind’s eye, I just began to picture the Shishigami from Princess Mononoke rising over the ridge. Saw his essence running down into the hollows, filling up the valleys. His face blocked out the sun and the clouds darkened with his rage.

And I realized, I should not be taken away from the mountains. Because I haven’t been around them much over the last ten years, and I had this same vision when I went to Virginia last month. The way the clouds flow down the Smokies just looks like magic.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memoirs

Let me know what you think.

