Chop Chop

I’ve been thinking about cutting my hair for a long time. For the record, if a girl with long hair tells you she’s never considered shaving her head, she’s lying.

Because I’ve always had long hair, it’s a big part of my identity. I’m not a classically feminine person. I don’t wear makeup. I don’t wear silk blouses. I don’t like skirts. I don’t have nice nails. I feel like my long hair is my one redeeming feminine quality.

My parents both like to say that hair is the glory of a woman. By extension, a woman’s hair is her husband’s glory. So by Hana logic, since I have no interest in obtaining a husband, I have no reason for having long hair. And I’ve been under the burden of “a lady has long hair” for so long that I just really, really want to chop it all off.

I mean, who says I have to be a lady?

1 Comment

Filed under Memoirs

One response to “Chop Chop

  1. Do it! I bet it’d look great. Maybe we can go get our hair chopped off together. 😀

    Like

Let me know what you think.

