What the Water Gave Me

This is everything and I can’t.

Clockwork Spires

I love the water. I always have.

My mom loves telling the story of how I learned to swim when I was two years old, and how I swam like a fish. She didn’t have to teach me how to swim— I just jumped right in and started swimming. Just went.

Maybe I’m a mermaid in disguise.

I don’t like to exercise. I mean look at me. But I’ll swim. I’ll swim laps, I’ll swim circles. I’ll just swim, as much and as often as I can.

But what I really like is just being underwater. The sense of peace, the feeling of the water surrounding me, the weight of it. The cool calm. I like how sound is muted and you can’t really hear anything. You don’t need to hear anything.

My friends think I’m weird, but I’ll go to the pool and I’ll just hold myself under the…

View original post 1,830 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Let me know what you think.

