Dear Alex: The One Where I’m World Building

It’s been a while since I’ve talked to you. I guess that’s a good sign. I made a new board about being kind of lost and sad , but that’s definitely a step up from being bitter for no good reason. I haven’t even thought about you that much recently. Which is a weird feeling. Old habits die hard, and then . . . well, this. What is this?

It’s raining today. I’m sleepy and I had an extra coffee. I’m happy I get to wear sweatpants a hoodie, at least for one more day. I’m supposed to be working on my story, but I bought a new cartridge of printer ink, and I get to print out my style sheet now. My nonexistent style sheet. So that’s what I did today: I started a style sheet. I found a lot of old things, headcanons I forgot I had. Things like, there used to be faeries. I forgot about the faeries.

I had a headache last night, so I sat in my back yard in the dark and looked at the stars.

Last month, I was anticipating being very sad on a particular weekend. I almost bought the Mayfield’s in preparation. And then that day came, and I didn’t even remember until the day after that I had expected to be sad. I made a bunch of new friends, and I was with them that day, and I didn’t even think about it. It was really weird.

Almost as weird as realizing you’re coming home soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memoirs, Thoughts

Let me know what you think.

