If You Ask Me To Be Your Girlfriend

If you ask me to be your girlfriend, you’ll have to drive me around. I grew up riding bicycles and public transport and car traffic scares me. I don’t mind driving in the country, but I’m a city girl at heart and I get bored.

If you ask me to be your girlfriend, you’ll have to put up with me asking weird questions without any warning. Every conversation I have opens a new tab in my brain, and I can’t close the tabs. I’m listening, but I don’t always hear you. My brain has various conversations by itself, and sometimes the questions spill over.

If you ask me to be your girlfriend, you’ll have to learn to laugh when I can’t remember what things are called in English. You’ll learn lots of random words in other languages, mainly Japanese. When I ask for “mizu” or say “samui,” you’ll know what to do.

If you ask me to be your girlfriend, you’ll have to accept that I’m never really happy, and I’m never really sad. Nothing has ever been enough to make me feel one way or the other. I wallow in the feels of TV shows or books or my own fictional characters, because feeling the things they feel reassures me that I’m alive, that I’m okay.

If you ask me to be your girlfriend, be forewarned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memoirs

Let me know what you think.

