Library Tour : Shelf D

So C Shelf was 3 books long. E Shelf is going to be 2. Guess how many books are on D Shelf. Guess.

Shelf D

The answer is 49. Frickin’ 49 books written by people whose names begin with D. Although to be fair, this is basically fourteen-year-old Hana being a Ted Dekker fangirl. (Hence all the hardcovers, which I normally hate.)

On with ze tour!

Bound by Guilt by C.J. Darlington
I found this in bargain fiction last Christmas. I’m pretty sure I bought it because the spine looks like a real leatherbound. (#booknerd oops)

Dragons In Our Midst 1-4, Oracles of Fire 1, and Dragons of Starlight 1 by Bryan Davis
Dragons In Our Midst was my first exposure to dragons walking around with humans. (Aside from, you know, the dragon in Voyage of the Dawn Treader, which doesn’t exactly count.) So I’d like to thank Mr. Davis for planting the love of dragons in me. I’m not sure how I discovered this story, but it’s probably one of my favorite concepts and I love it so much. Oracles is a sequel series, and Starlighter is on a different planet.

The Crimson Cipher by Susan Page Davis
Another bargain section book. I think this one is some historical romance romp, but don’t quote me on that.

And now begins the TED DEKKER SECTION dun dun dun.

Adam
I read this book around 2010, and it creeped me out so much I haven’t really read Ted Dekker since then.

Blessed Child and its slightly less awesome sequel A Man Called Blessed
This is about an African orphan who develops (or has) the ability to get God to heal people. Blessed Child might have been the first Ted Dekker book I ever read (the other possibilities are Blink and Thr3e and I genuinely cannot remember which one I read first). I don’t remember anything that happened in A Man Called Blessed. I think the Ark of the Covenant was involved.

Boneman’s Daughters
I haven’t read my actual copy of this, but I listened to the audiobook with my roommate and it was pretty good.

The Bride Collector
I haven’t read this one yet, and I’m so excited about it, but I’m scared to get sucked into a Ted Dekker book right before Nanowrimo starts.

The Circle Trilogy and its prequel
I think these were my first contemporary fantasy books. I don’t read a lot of contemporary now, and I definitely didn’t when I first read this trilogy. This was the series that introduced me to parallel worlds, which is a concept that has fallen out of my novel, but the not-green forest is still there.

The Paradise Trilogy
I haven’t read Sinner yet, mainly because I read Saint before Showdown, which screwed up my timeline.

Heaven’s Wager
This was a pretty good book. The MC is a banker who steals a penny out of either a million or a billion bank accounts. But does he get away with it?!

Obsessed
Okay, so this was the book that kind of heralded the end of my Ted Dekker fangirl phase. The MCs were super old (like 35) and it was about Nazis and drinking blood and there were brandings and burns are about the only injury that make me squeamish.

The Priest’s Graveyard
I haven’t read this one yet, but a murderous priest? I mean, this is nuns with guns-level appeal.

Skin
I read this one right after Obsessed, and I didn’t read another Dekker book for about three years (it was, I think, Adam, which is why I haven’t really gotten back into Dekker). Like, I’ve continued to buy them if they sound interesting, but I haven’t read many of his newer books.

Thr3e
My favorite Ted Dekker is this tied with Blink. This was my first exposure to the thing that’s a plot twist so I won’t spoil it for you. Also my first exposure to serial killers and to the effects of abuse (not sexual abuse though, that was a book called Ghost Girl by Torey L Hayden, which someone let me read when I was about 11). This book even has a movie, but I can’t remember how I felt about it.

The Outlaw Chronicles
Haven’t gotten the last one (or current last one) yet. I’m slowly collecting them to read during the winter doldrums. Which I know to expect this year.

Kiss
The MC develops the ability to steal people’s memories by kissing them and I remember thinking it was really cool but being slightly unsatisfied with the ending. I can’t remember why.

The Books of Mortals
I got about a third of the way into Forbidden, right to where stuff finally started happening, but then I just couldn’t carry on. This trilogy is set in a world where no one has any emotions except for fear, which is how the government keeps everyone in line without war. (They kill you for the smallest things though, like having scars.) Now, this is a fascinating concept, but it makes all the characters extremely hard to connect with emotionally. At least for me, because I’m not really afraid of anything, I just have vague anxiety. Actually, I think my issue was that the main narrator isn’t a fearful person, and therefore he is completely emotionless for the first 50-60 pages of the book.

Umm…. I obviously have strong feelings about that one. I don’t abandon books very often, and I’m planning to finish that trilogy, but I look at it, and I’m just like, “Ehhh.” Okay, on to the rest of the books that are not Dekker.

A Christmas Carol, Great Expectations, and A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
I’ve read ACC. I’ve read an abridged ATOTC. Haven’t read GE at all. I like Dickens, but he’s a bit much for me in large quantities. These particular copies of ATOTC and GE are part of my attempt to build a library of classic literature.

Books 1-10 and 16 of The Hardy Boys by “Franklin W. Dixon”
Formulaic, but classic kids stories. I love the boys a lot, and these are nice, cozy reads for days when you’re not feeling a lot of commitment. Some day I’m going to buy the reprints of the original series, which were 30 chapters long instead of 20.

The Best of Sherlock Holmes and The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
The best canon in the world. I mean, some of my favorite shows are based off these stories. Detective Conan was the first, I think, and of course BBC’s Sherlock is amazing, but Sherlock Hound was a good series and the RDJ version is really good too (I liked the sequel more, shockingly).

And that was Shelf D! 49 books holy cow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memoirs, Projects

Let me know what you think.

