Alex On My Mind

I’m having a bit of writer’s block on Maid Latte this week. It’s my own fault. I got myself into it, forcing myself to write a hangover chapter. Tomorrow’s chapter is about 600 words short, but I really like it the way it is, and I don’t know what to add. So naturally, what do I do? I look up my logbook entries from last summer.

I have about 185 pages logged of the Japan adventure. I learned a lot of stuff about myself there. That I’m stupid, for one thing. That I’m an idealist and an optimist. And it’s really interesting, looking at it now, because I can read straight through the five weeks I was in Japan in less than an hour. The ups and downs of my resolve about various things were disheartening because the logbook makes it sound like I ended up exactly where I started off. And I was doing so good in the middle. So I feel like I wasted a lot of time.

Thoroughly discouraged, I got on Facebook.

10429314_854696044549387_5481975015207408650_n

Usually I get off of Facebook feeling like I’m doing nothing with my life, but that was really encouraging to me. I’ll go back to working on Maid Latte now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memoirs

Let me know what you think.

