My Favorite Chick Flicks

I don’t normally like chick flicks. I’m a Lord of the Rings and Doctor Who kind of girl. I like musicals, but romance is not my go-to genre. I guess I’m just not romantic. I’m more interested in watching large men blow up monsters. (Jensen is taller than he looks next to Jared, for the record.) But! I’ve been on a bit of a chick flick binge recently, so I thought I would share six of my favorite chick flicks and why I like them.

Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement
This was my first proper chick flick. I saw it on the plane coming over to see my grandma, and I bought it on DVD while in the States. It was probably my first experience of a love triangle, and also where I learned to go for the bad boy, because he’ll be more fun. (I did like Andrew though.) I still love this movie. I think I like it better than the first one because I saw Royal Engagement first, and also because I’ve never related well to American high school drama. (I also don’t relate to the princess fetish that all American girls seem to have.)

Safe Haven
I don’t know that I can explain why I love this movie without spoiling it. But I love Josh Duhamel (*cough* large man who blows up monsters *cough*). It’s hard to let people into your life, especially if you have children to protect, and Safe Haven portrays those emotions really well.

Penelope
This is probably my favorite romantic movie of all time. Because it’s off the wall, it has James McAvoy, it has an enchantment, it’s not a typical romance. And I always love when the girl doesn’t end up with the rich blue blood. I like the down-and-out rising to the standards of a sheltered lady. I like the idea of falling in love with someone you’ve never seen, falling in love with the essence of their person. (I mean, we talk about meeting people online, but can’t you be in love with a YouTuber without ever meeting them?) I also like the idea that a man is not what a woman needs to be happy. (That’s my favorite thing about Frozen too.) And hey, Penelope has great fashion sense.

Elizabethtown
Again, a kind of off the wall romantic movie. I think it does a beautiful job of capturing the fog that follows any kind of tragedy. I love Kirsten Dunst and Orlando Bloom, although I think Will Turner is much better looking than Drew Baylor. I love Claire’s accent too. The weird thing is, not many people liked this movie. I have a tendency to love movies other people hate (and also hate movies that other people love). I don’t know if that’s because I’m Japanese at heart, or if I’m not critical, or if I’m just easily entertained. I guess I come into movies with a bookworm mind and excuse a lot of things. (Like how fast people fall in love in a movie as opposed to a book.) But this was the movie that made me want to get in a car and just go -somewhere- so it holds a special place in my heart.

Sweet Home Alabama
This is probably my favorite proper chick flick. I love the cultural clash because I like to be reminded that America is enormous and has lots of races and cultures. I love Reese Witherspoon, especially when she’s doing her own accent. Side note, Alabama has my second favorite American accent (Texan is first and Louisiana is third, in case you were wondering). And I always love a smart country boy, especially with blond scruff. This movie also has what was probably the first depiction of a coming out that I ever saw.

27 Dresses
This movie is a very close second to Sweet Home Alabama. I think the accent is what pushes SHA just over 27 Dresses. I love this movie because it’s a travesty of weddings. I’m not a huge fan of weddings in general and I definitely don’t want one, but I can relate to being blindly in love with someone. And Katherine Heigl did an amazing job of portraying the emotional turmoil that follows when that person falls in love with someone else, especially when both people are people you don’t want to hurt.

I also watched Lilo & Stitch recently and I know that’s not a chick flick but it will never fail to make me cry and that’s why I love it ok bye

Leave a comment

Filed under Opinions, Reactions

Let me know what you think.

