Day 19/30: Five Items You Lust After

I was talking to my boss the other day, and I was shocked to discover how little $250 is to other people. My family has always lived pretty tight, so if we have to unexpectedly produce $250, there’s a definite loss somewhere else. There’s loads of things I want, but I have to save up for them. Here are five things that I really want to get, but probably won’t be able to for a while.

1. A New Laptop
Even though I’ve kind of decided that I’m not gonna start a YouTube channel, I still want a laptop that’s fast enough to edit videos on. I like making scrapbooks and picture slide shows. Why not make videos too? I sure take enough pictures to make videos of something. I’m actually saving up for a laptop now.

2. An iPhone 5s
I really, really want a 5s. The problem is, I never really leave my house except to go to work. I’m not supposed to have a phone out at work. At home, I have wifi. I already have an iPod touch, which is basically like having an iPhone, as long as you have wifi. So I will control myself, at least until 6 comes out. Maybe 5s will get cheaper after that.

3. A trip to Europe
(Is that an item? Whatever, I want it.) You have no idea how badly I want to go to Europe. America is great. It’s fine. But the architecture here doesn’t have hundreds of years of history behind it. I want to go to places like Westminster and the Sistine Chapel. I want to see the Coliseum. I want to try pizza in Italy, because I’ve heard it’s the most boring pizza ever. I want to see Hadrian’s Wall and I want to ride the London Eye. I want to see The Shard and walk across Trafalgar Square. I also wouldn’t mind bumping into a couple dozen people who live in London and Brighton.

4. An SLR
I know nothing about photography, but I love pictures with really shallow depth of focus, and you can’t do that on a point-and-shoot camera. I have an almost-SLR point-and-shoot Nikon with something like 27x optical zoom, but it doesn’t have manual focus. I wish I had known how much I like messing with depth of focus before I got it. On the other hand, I probably would not have wanted to carry an SLR all over Japan last summer. Seriously, there was an outrageous amount of walking involved.

5. A Writing Studio
Okay, this. This is huge. I want a studio so much. I want a place to keep my library, and I want a quiet place to write in. I’ve had the designs for several years now, but I just cannot afford it. Would someone like to build me a studio?

Leave a comment

Filed under Projects

Let me know what you think.

