Day 3/30: A Book You Love

I’m really glad the prompt is “a book you love” and not “your favorite book.” That’s like telling a mother to pick her favorite child. Today’s post is later than the first couple posts because I had a hard time settling on one. In the end, I’ve decided to go with Raising Dragons by Bryan Davis. It’s the first book in a YA fantasy series called Dragons in Our Midst. The main character Billy finds out that he is half dragon when he develops the ability to breathe fire.

A few months ago, I saw a pin of bunk beds for multiple kids. And I was like, “I want to write a story about identical triplets.” When I was brainstorming how their characters could be completely distinct, boyfriends came up, and I’m just la-dee-da giving him this color hair and that color eyes and all the sudden (BAM) he’s a century-old dragon sent on a quest to find one of the triplets.

“What? WHAT. Where did that come from? You’re not supposed to be a dragon. You’re supposed to be an unrealistic boyfriend in a gushy romance.” But there he was. A dragon. Why am I telling you this story? Because when that happened, I realized that I write about dragons a lot. My novel, of which I’ve just finished the first full draft, has multiple dragons in it. Two future projects also heavily involve dragons.

How did this happen? How did I get from writing cyberpaths to writing dragons? I’d like to think Raising Dragons is responsible. It was the very first book I ever read that had dragons in it (Voyage of the Dawn Treader aside). It was my first exposure to dragons living among humans, and that’s a concept I’ve never fully gotten over, apparently. So I’d like to thank Bryan Davis for the influence he’s had on my writing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memoirs, Projects, Reactions

Let me know what you think.

