City of Lost Souls (Cassandra Clare)

I may have accidentally deleted all the quotes I highlighted in the first four Mortal Instruments books, which is why I didn’t put any in the raves I did about the series and about Jace. But I just finished the existing series, and I am going to put up quotes. Because I want to vent my feelings about needing to wait a month to finish the series. (Yes, yes, I know. I only have to wait a month. Some people had to wait two years. Or something. But I survived the Sherlock hiatus, so I’m going to complain about waiting one month for City of Heavenly Fire.)

Spoilers, as usual. To be honest, a lot of the lines I liked in The Mortal Instruments series, I highlighted for craft more than anything else. So I probably wouldn’t have posted all of them anyway.

“The only way you could raise enough money to hire Magnus by selling lemonade is if you put meth in it.”

I love Magnus. I didn’t get to rave about him last time. He’s hilarious and random and magic. Magic is good. Asian magic is better.

Stealing: “An extreme case of window-shopping.”

Gotta love Jace. Well, demon Jace. Or Lilith Jace. Or whatever the heck this Jace was called. Okay, seriously, this kid changes his name is every frickin’ book.

1: Jace Wayland
2: Jace Morgenstern
3: Jace Lightwood
4: Jace Herondale

MAKE UP YOUR MINDDDDD.

Either way, gotta love Jace.

Clary wondered what it would be like to be more like Isabelle, so aware of your own feminine power you could wield it as a weapon instead of gazing at it mystified, like someone presented with a housewarming gift they had no idea where to display.

I like the contrast between Clary and Isabelle. Clary is tomboyish and impulsive. Isabelle is sexy and determined. But they’re actually a lot alike, and I thought that was really interesting.

It was one of the things that had made her fall in love with him in the first place – realizing that this scarred, sarcastic boy was gentle with the things he loved.

Yes, Clary. That was one of the things that made me fall in love with him too.

But “all this” hadn’t had a face, a voice, a plan. Now that it wore Luke’s sister’s face, now that Clary knew the plan, it was too late.

I loved how reality hit. Clary always jumps into things, and it was interesting to see how she sees the consequences for the first time.

“And she knew in that moment that just as he wasn’t Jace, the Clary he loved wasn’t her. It was a memory of her, blurred and distorted”

This spoke to me because the last person I liked, I did the exact same thing. And you don’t really realize you’re doing it until afterward, or until you spend face time with them. Reality bites.

“Jace’s is sort of the antiaircraft artillery tank of male egos.”

I love how Simon sums things up. And I love that this is how he describes Jace. And I love Jace. Have I mentioned that?

“If it was up to me, I would elope to Vegas and have a fifty-dollar pirate-themed wedding with Elvis presiding.”

I love Luke too. Am I allowed to have multiple book boyfriends when they’re in the same book? It feels like I’m have an affair. Or, more so than it does when they’re in separate books/realities.

So yeah. Awesome series. Adding it to my list of authors to emulate. What Rowling and Riordan and Clare have done, I want to do. Oh, dear. I’ve set the bar pretty high, haven’t it?

Leave a comment

Filed under Reactions

Let me know what you think.

