The Allegory of the Cave

By Plato? But it made me realize the accuracy of “We read by the light of every book we have ever read.” I haven’t really studied philosophy or government. At least, not enough that I really comprehend it. Add in grammar like Austen, and . . . But what I understood was interesting. I think.

The main thing I learned is “read more.” I’ll go back and read it again later, after I read other books about Greek and Roman government, etc, and see if it makes more sense to me. However my current Horizon Day pursuits are Dickinson and Shakespeare. I really like Emily Dickinson, actually. She writes simply and I understand her. Shakespeare gives me a headache.

Leave a comment

Filed under Opinions

Let me know what you think.

