First Baptist Church of Charleston

It was my first time in a church where the preacher wore a robe. And I realized that the books you read stay with you. Always.

It was in a George MacDonald book. There was a teacher who filled in at church, but he was so nervous that he stuck his sermon notes in his pocket and put on his robe and then couldn’t find his sermon notes when he was preaching. But my heart was suddenly like, “FEELS” in the middle of the sermon, because this character drowned trying to save a student that he crippled. I don’t even remember if the kid survived. I just remembered because of the robe, and it made me want to read the book again. It’s from The Maiden’s Bequest, I’m pretty sure.

Finished Girl of Nightmares last night. I didn’t like it nearly as much as Anna Dressed in Blood. Nothing really happened until the very end. I liked Anna a lot, and she wasn’t in the sequel much, so yeah. But it was worth reading, I guess. Started City of Fallen Angels today. I’m not sure I have the heart to finish.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memoirs

Let me know what you think.

