Anna Dressed in Blood (Kendare Blake)

So I’m a puddle of Dean feels from reading Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake. I am willing to bet actual money that this story was originally a Supernatural fanfiction. (The good kind, obviously.) I read the entire book like it was Dean Winchester talking. And his name is frickin’ Cas. I mean, how am I supposed to take that? (Official review here, by the way.)

Anyway, here come the quotes and reasons why I liked them. Ahem. SPOILERS.

I thought the description in general was gorgeous, so I won’t include any, except for how Lake Superior is bluer than blue and greener than green, and lies beside the city like a sleeping dog. Maybe that’s not as clever as I think it is, but it’s effective.

Move, hunt, kill. Like lather, rinse, and repeat. is one of many lines that evoked Dean Winchester to me. Because what is a hunter’s life but this? The book is written in first person, so it was very easy for me to picture Dean on a case. I loved how this book is kind about the breakdown of Cas’s “move, hunt, kill” routine. They say to start with your main character in his normal circumstances, and Blake does exactly that. The first chapter is an easy kill, and it establishes Cas is an experienced ghost killer.

“I don’t have my knife,” I mumble.
“Don’t start that,” Anna says. She walks away from me sharply. “Arthur without Excalibur was still Arthur.”

I love this. I don’t think I have to explain why.

We’re not children, neither of us. We don’t believe in fairy tales. And if we did, who would we be? Not Prince Charming and Sleeping Beauty. I slice murder victims’ heads off and Anna stretches skin until it rips, she snaps bones like green branches into smaller and smaller pieces. We’d be the fricking dragon and the wicked fairy.

I can’t explain how much I love this. Because I don’t like stories about the princess and her knight in shining armor. I like the stories about the dragon with a heart of gold and the awkward fairy who’s learning to fly. And that’s what this is. This book is about a killer and a murderer, and it’s a beautiful journey from obsession to compassion and respect.

The rhythm of the footsteps, the sound of whatever is coming down the ladder is driving both me and my mom steadily toward peeing our pants.

Example of Blake’s fine description. I probably shouldn’t have laughed so hard. A man gets killed, you think he has full control of his bladder?

….. I’m such a nerd.

Anyway, loved this book. There is a complete variety of swearing, but it’s pretty lightly sprinkled in. So if you don’t mind that, and you like paranormal YA fiction, I would highly recommend this book.

1 Comment

Filed under Reactions

One response to “Anna Dressed in Blood (Kendare Blake)

  1. Pingback: Leibster Award (Round 2) / Tumblr TMI Tag | Follow That Rabbit!

Let me know what you think.

