Improbable Meetings

I just finished My Wattpad Love by cold_lady19. It was pretty good. I spent the entire time waiting for the other shoe to drop. But it was a happy-go-lucky love story, and I enjoyed it. I thought it was kind of ironic that the inciting incident was the guy telling the main character that her story was cheesy and unrealistic. But you know, we could all use a dose of optimism. Watching people like Danisnotonfire on YouTube, I’m well aware of how sarcastic people are. I think sometimes it’s better to just be honest.

This story connected with me on a very emotional level. I could completely relate to Julie’s conflict between trying to get over him and trying to still be friends, to act like it never happened, that she never felt the way she did about him. That has to be the most heart-wrenching feeling I’ve ever experienced. It’s a plight of the female condition to assume a guy is more interested than he actually is. Why can’t we just be straight with one another?

BTW, pet peeve: A website with millions of users uploading hundreds of millions of stories and poems, and you’re gonna meet the love of your life, who happens to live in a nearby town? Seriously?

And what’s up with me reading all this stuff that makes me think of Alex, all of the sudden? I should go back to reading Percy Jackson and Harry Potter.

Leave a comment

Filed under Opinions, Reactions

Let me know what you think.

