I Found Alaska

I was going to post another story today, but screw it, I just finished Looking For Alaska by John Green, and I need to talk about it. By the way, this entire blog entry: SPOILERS! SPOILER ALERT! Tumblr and Pinterest both have a lot of pictures going around like, “I hate having to pretend that I did not just experience severe emotional trauma at the hands of a fictional character,” et cetera. I’ve never really experienced that before. Until now.

I’m not one for marking up my books. But I read Looking For Alaska on my iPod touch, and I highlighted the crap out of it. So I decided to share the lines I liked with you, and then explain why I liked them.

I wanted to be one of those people who have streaks to maintain, who scorch the ground with their intensity. But for now, at least I knew such people, and they needed me, just like comets needs tails.

Again, Pinterest/Tumblr have a lot of Molly or John versus Sherlock pictures, comparisons of the ordinary to the extraordinary. This is kind of how Pudge sees the Colonel. Those lines mean a lot to me, because that emotional breakup I had this summer was with a guy (let’s call him Alex) that I think of as the Sherlock to my John. Because Alex is really smart and funny and he has great social skills and he’s tried all kinds of things. He knows something about everything, and he’s good at arranging what he knows into logical arguments. I swear, he could tell you that you’re a sleeper cell alien, and he could make you believe it. And because I wish I could be more like him, I can totally relate to how Pudge feels about the Colonel.

“You spend your whole life stuck in the labyrinth, thinking about how you’ll escape it one day, and how awesome it will be, and imagining that future keeps you going, but you never do it. You just use the future to escape the present.”

Alaska has a strange obsession with the labyrinth. That’s a key part of the whole book. I really like this quote because it reflects my life so much. Because I’m a hermit at heart and I can’t be bothered to leave my house. My life consists of work, Pinterest, YouTube, and Tumblr. Isn’t that just as bad as daydreaming about a future that might not happen?

“That’s the thing. He thinks busting us is good for the school and good for us. It’s the eternal struggle, Pudge. The Good versus the Naughty. . . . Sometimes you lose a battle. But mischief always wins the war.”

In the words of Tumblr, Good girls are just bad girls who never get caught. I really like the way Alaska says stuff. And this is especially funny to me because of the college I went to.

Alaska wanted to show us that we could trust her . . . She and the Colonel had taken the fall for me to show me how it was done, so I would know what to do when the time came.

I probably liked this because I have a tendency to take the blame for stuff.

And in the almost-ness of the moment, I cared at least enough. I wasn’t sure whether I liked her, and I doubted whether I could trust her, but I cared at least enough to try to find out.

The “almost-ness” is what kills me. Story of my life. Yup.

I walked back to my room and collapsed on the bottom bunk, thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.

That’s exactly how I feel about Alex.

It was not enough to be the last guy she kissed. I wanted to be the last one she loved.

I mainly highlighted this because I’ve seen it everywhere and I didn’t realize that it was a John Green quote. So in case you ignored me, (SPOILERS) Alaska has died at this point. This is kind of just me highlighting most of the last couple chapters.

(1) I wondered if there would ever be a day when I didn’t think about Alaska, wondered whether I should hope for a time when she would be a distant memory . . . Would I forget a little of Alaska every day for the rest of my life? (2) She taught me everything I knew about crawfish and kissing and pink wine and poetry. She made me different. (3) “You can’t just make me different and then leave.”

Alex made me different. But nothing happened between us, and nothing ever will. And even though that kills me right now, someday I’ll be able to look at him and feel nothing. Pudge’s conclusion is I will forget her, yes. That which came together will fall apart imperceptibly slowly, and I will forget. I cling to this hope.

A woman so strong she burns heaven and drenches hell is something I’d love to be. It always shocked me when I realized that I wasn’t the only person in the world who thought and felt such strange and awful things. also meant a lot.

Greatest lesson in the book: There is a part of [Alaska] greater than the sum of her knowable parts. And that part has to go somewhere, because it cannot be destroyed.

So yeah, in spite of what I said in my Goodreads review, I did enjoy this book. Don’t read it. Your heart will not recover.

2 Comments

Filed under Reactions

2 responses to “I Found Alaska

  1. Pingback: 101 More Conversation Starters (for Couples), Part 1 | Follow That Rabbit!

  2. Pingback: 101 More Conversation Starters, Part 1 | Follow That Rabbit!

Let me know what you think.

