Back to Normal Life

Every time we start for home when we’re on vacation, my mom says, “Back to normal life.” That’s how I feel right now. I learned a lot in Japan, and maybe changed a little too, but now I’m back home, and I’m not sure how to incorporate these two people. Time to define a new normal.

My flight back was exciting. I had a two-hour layover in San Fransisco, but my first plane got delayed an hour so that people flying in from Manila would make it on. So I had an hour. Plenty of time, right? WRONG. San Fransisco was the most understaffed airport I’ve ever been to in my life. There was fourteen lines for U.S. citizens at customs, and only two of them were open. It took me forty-five minutes to go through customs and recheck my bags. Then I had to go through TSA, which also only had two people working. Praise God my gate was only two down from TSA. I got there with about ten minutes to spare.

There will be a Kansai blog sometime soon. I didn’t have wifi while I was there, so I couldn’t update anything. I want to have my Kyoto entry up by the end of the week, but my roommate from college arrived at my house the same night I did, so we might be too busy. Brazilian party time! Super excited about brigadeiros!

Leave a comment

Filed under Memoirs

Let me know what you think.

