Japan: Day 5

I never really thought about this before, but school uniforms for Japanese boys are suits. I’ve always thought of them as uniforms, but they really are suits. So weird. White collar society conditioning, I guess. Japanese people in general are pretty stylish.

So today, I went to Tokyo Baptist Church. It was kinda funny because I’ve been there many times but I don’t think I’ve ever actually been there in the daytime. Or for an actual church service. I liked it though. He talked about having wholesome speech. Gossip is more powerful than a direct assault. Hmmm …. But anyway, I’ve gone to Baptist churches two weeks in a row now, and I’ll be going to Baptist churches the rest of the time I’m in Japan. I went to a super strict Baptist college, so it’s really strange seeing Baptist churches in real life.

After church, we went out for sushi. It wasn’t exactly kaiten-zushi, which is where your order comes around on a looping conveyor belt. This place had a straight belt three layers high for each row of seats, and the belts would whiz in and out instead of around. You could order three plates at a time (which is a lot more than it sounds like), and then you push a button to send the tray back into the kitchen. It was so good, seriously. I paid about 900 yen, and I got seven plates plus kitsune udon (which is like fat ramen with tempura crumbles). So good.

I rode a train by myself for the first time. After lunch, my host family went back to the church for meetings, and I went back to the house by myself. That was quite an adventure. I was very proud of myself that I didn’t get lost. I made friends with a boy on the train. We were both standing behind the driver filming. I used my iPod, and he used his 3DS. I think he was really surprised that I spoke Japanese.

I guess today was mainly about food. We went to a friend’s piano recital (which went really well, considering how young some of the students were), and her family took us out for karubi (Korean barbecue) afterward. I almost died it was so good, seriously. We had two different kinds of beef, reemen (which is like cold ramen), the Korean version of okonomiyaki (which was very spongy and came with very nice sauce), some amazing pork/sesame/seaweed broth, sausages, and bibimbap. That was a lot of fun. And I realized that this is the same lady that took my family out to eat karubi the one other time I’ve ever had it.

Anyway, good day. I think I’m over my homesickness, at least for the time being.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memoirs, Projects

Let me know what you think.

