Shades of Me

I like to think that I’m content with being single. I’ve never had a boyfriend, never been kissed, never been on a date. (I’m 23, but don’t judge.) Anyway, because I’m not completely abnormal, I have gone through several major crushes. And because I’m a writer, most of these crushes have spawned a complete universe.

The first time this happened in thorough writing, I was about 16. I invented a persona named Heather. She was part of a family that secretly had amazing technology and were implanted with machines that gave them powers of telepathy and stuff. This world was invented for a boy I met soon after moving to the States. He had very blue eyes, which I had never really seen before. (Heather ends up with someone else though.)

The next major world involved a girl named Sarah. She was a scholarship student at a really rich school where the sons of all the families who control the world went (haha, can you say Ouran Host Club?). Sarah was in love with a neighbor who had a lot of video games. There are actually several versions of Sarah. I never really let go of her, but she’s not always the same person or in the same place. I guess I like the name Sarah because the first couple I really shipped were named Josh and Sarah. (Same Sarah that I named my missing Barbie after.) They’re from a series called The Seven Sleepers by Gilbert Morris, and I still love them. I was 9 the first time I read that series. I feel so old.

I actually found my first serious notebook the other day when I was cleaning out my room. Evidently, I started creating worlds for my crushes when I was 9. I visited Alaska, and a boy called me “sweetheart,” and he was kind of my first crush. And he was blond. Maybe that’s where I get the “blond guys are awesome” thing from. But that spawned a universe which revolved around a “couple” named Ben and Girla. (I was so creative.) These stories are mostly written down in script form because I played them out with dolls more than actually writing a complete story.

There was a boy right before I moved that resulted in the creation of Jenna. Jenna was raised on a ship housing top-secret military experiments. Her entire spine was made of implants. In retrospect, she was a cyborg. At the time, I just thought it was cool idea. Imagine having wifi right in your neck. I guess that’s a thing now. How far we’ve come in the last ten years. That universe may have been somewhat influenced by Girl Genius, which is an awesome comic book. (Although I started college around volume 6 and haven’t read any since then, so I don’t know what it’s like now. I’m assuming it’s still good.) Jenna doesn’t have a complete story because I didn’t get to crush on this boy for very long.

I sound like I have multiple personalities, don’t I? Oh, the joys of being a writer.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memoirs

Let me know what you think.

